top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristen

Navigating Insurance Hoops

So let me start this by saying I am tremendously thankful to have insurance that provides some coverage for infertility treatment...

However, the hoops you have to jump through to qualify for the benefits are frustrating.


1 - Register for the Women's Health Program before anything is covered.

Called to register right after we met with our new RE before we completed new round of testing.  Do you have a treatment plan? - No - Then call back when you do.


2 - Fast forward, I have a treatment plan. 

Called the 800 number to register.  You have to fill out a form, here's the website to download the form.  You can return it via fax - fax only - No email.


3 - Complete form, use some efax service to transmit the document via this antiquated method. 

Receive a call back later that day.  We've received your application and you're now enrolled.  We'll need a copy of two semen anlysis to confirm the male-factor diagnosis.  If your husband's morphology is <4% then you can proceed with the IVF treatment. 


Otherwise we require ...


6 MEDICATED CYCLES


before you can proceed with IVF.


So another thing to be thankful for.  If I am going to have fertility obstacles I'm thankful its male-factor and at such a level that my insurance doesn't require me to ride the hormone rollercoaster for 6 rounds before I can proceed with my doctor's recommendation.


4 - Fertility clinic is responsible moving forward to submit pre-approval for all services.  Once preauthorization request is received insurance will request two SA and my day-three bloodwork results.

....will update post as we progress through the process in 2018


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page