top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristen

Our Estimated IVF Costs

Updated: Jan 16, 2018

Updated 1/15/2018


Costs below reflect our out of pocket costs for IVF diagnoses and treatment starting in 2017.  This does not reflect prior costs associated with our original diagnosis and two IUI cycles in 2012/13.  Our testing costs are reduced due to tests performed in 2012/13 which included bloodwork, two semen analysis, HSG test, Testicular Ultrasound.


I always assumed two things about IVF.

     1 - Insurance would never cover it

     2 - The costs are too exorbitant for me to ever afford.

I was wrong on both counts


I have insurance coverage for infertility treatment including IVF - if prequalified.

$15,000 Lifetime Max Infertility coverage

$5,000 Deductible, $8,000 out of pocket annual max

70/30 split after deductible is met, with insurance paying 70%

$0 coverage for meds associated with IVF

Qualify for 25% discount on meds through fertility lifelines compassionate care

For insurance to kick in, I must first be formally diagnosed.  The tests are not covered by my insurance.


Bill amount is before insurance discount.  Out of Pocket is actual costs we paid.

Service                                                           Bill                Out of Pocket       Insurance

Nov 17:Consultation with RE        $375             $174                       0

Nov 17: Semen Analysis w/ DFI                   ?                   $300                       0

Nov 17: Blood Work (Round 1)                   $789 $527 0

Dec 17: IVF Orientation (Education)           $150             $150                       0

Dec 17: Saline Infusion Sonohysterography  $1,915           $428                      0

Jan 2018: Blood Work (Round 2) $370 $242 0

Jan 2018: Infectious Disease Panel ?

Testing out of pocket costs to date..................................$1,821


Estimates for IVF Procedure scheduled in 2018

Feb 18: Egg retrieval & Monitoring                 $14,270        $5,142                    $330

Feb 18: Embryo Cryopreservation                  $1,000          $1,000                    0 (not covered)

Mar 18: Frozen Embryo Transfer                    $5,410          $384                       $896

IVF with ICSI out of pocket estimate................................$6,525  (not including meds)


Medications

Jan 2018: $3,203 (Includes 25% Compasionate Care Discount)

Menopur, Ovidrel, GonalF, Cetrotide


In addition to the above, there is a cocktail of vitamins my husband and I were prescribed by the doctor that averages out to about $80 per month total.  Seth will get to discontinue the Fertilaid for Men once we achieve a viable pregnancy but I will stay on many of mine including the prenatal, methyl folate, CoQ10 and vitamin D.


Options for payment

There are several services available to help pay for infertility treatments.  Unlike the clinic I used for our IUI cycles in 2013, the new Fertility Clinic has been amazing at helping us navigate the financial side of infertility.


MEDICATIONS: My insurance covers nothing towards the medication.  I was able to qualify for the income-based program from fertility lifelines compassionate care.  The income cutoff for this program is way higher than I expected.  It offers patients 10-75% off medication for IVF.  The application process is remarkably simple.  I sent them a copy of my prior year's tax return and received a decision within 24 hours.  The qualification is good for one year.  

We use very little medical services annually, so I've saved up over $4,000 on my HSA which I'm banking on covering my medication costs.


TREATMENT: Since I'm putting my HSA savings towards meds, that leaves me starting at $0 for treatment.  There are financing options available for treatment but we prefer not to increase our debt in this process.

My plan is to use a medical hardship withdraw from my 401K.  Yes, there will be a tax penalty for this and I may regret it at retirement, but right now we are trying to live the life we want and that requires sacrificing a little of my retirement cushion.  I'm relatively young and I have time to recover the <$10k withdraw.  I will submit the letter and estimate from my doctor to my 401k plan on January 1 for approval.  This way I take the tax hit in 2018, which the medical expenses will help offset.

Would it be better if I had $7k sitting in a savings account to use?  Sure!  But I don't and my biological clock isn't waiting around for me to get there.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page